It’s not a shock that most DUI offenses result in severe consequence and penalty. You’re likely facing jail time, a probationary period, and hefty fines. However, one of the biggest obstacles to overcome following a Nevada DUI is drivers license suspension/revocation.
The thought of losing your license can be disheartening. Understanding what license suspensions you’re facing can help you determine how you are going to handle the charges and will help you decide the best way possible to respond. If you’re in the process of dealing with a DUI, your best chance for constructing the best defense possible is by working with a Las Vegas DUI attorney.
What’s the Suspension For A DUI in Nevada?
If you commit a drunk driving or DUI offense in Nevada, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your license for ninety-days. If this is your second offense within a seven-year span, your license will be suspended for one year. If this is your third offense within a seven-year span, you face a three-year revocation. There are, however, rules that you need to abide by if you wish to reinstate your license.
How Do I Know When My License Is Suspended or Revoked? What’s the Process for a DUI License Suspension or Revocation?
If you face license suspension, you will receive a mailed notice to the address listed on your driver’s license indicating the effective dates. Your driving record will also reflect the suspension dates. Once you are arrested for a DUI, the arresting officer will take your drivers license and you will receive a temporary license. They will then notify the Nevada DMV of your arrest.
From there, you will have a limited window of time to request a hearing centering your revocation. Do not delay this. You must request a hearing about your DUI license suspension as soon as you can following your arrest.
How Do I Reinstate My License After A DUI?
To reinstate your license after a suspension, you must prove to the DMV that you meet the requirements for reinstatement. You will need to complete form SR-22 to show proof of auto insurance, and you must typically remedy the underlying criminal charges by an adjudication of guilt or innocence, or a complete dismissal of the case.
In most DUI cases, you must attend alcohol treatment and an alcohol education school before the Nevada DMV will reinstate your license. If it’s your third suspension, you may have to show that you’ve completed three years of alcohol treatment.
Keeping The Correct Address on Your Driver’s License
Remember, the DMV sends the suspension notice to your address on your license. Keeping a current address with the DMV is essential. You will not have a case if you claim you missed your hearing because the notice was sent to the wrong address!
Getting A Restricted License After a Nevada License Suspension
In some cases, you may be eligible for a restricted license after you serve a portion of your suspension period. For example, if you are penalized with a 90-day suspension, you can potentially request a restricted license after 45 days.
A restricted license permits you to drive to important places like work, school, and the grocery store.
There are certain restrictions associated with the application for a restricted license, so you are encouraged to contact a Las Vegas DUI Attorney for more information.
How We Can Help You
Are you facing a license suspension or revocation following a DUI in Nevada? Our attorneys can help you take the proper steps to ensuring a strong case is built to help streamline the penalty/suspension process. If you are facing license suspension following a DUI, contact Craig P. Kenny & Associates immediately for a free, no-obligation case review.