A DUI arrest in Las Vegas encompasses two separate cases: the court case and the DMV case. Below we will describe the proceedings of each case and what you can expect during the process:
1. The court case
The first case is the court case. This is centered on the criminal charges you’ll face for your accused driving under the influence. Following your Nevada DUI arrest, the policing agency will typically provide you with a notice (citation) to appear in court at a later date. This court date is used to establish your plea (guilty vs. not guilty). If you have a Las Vegas DUI lawyer, and in most cases, your attorney can appear on your behalf (you will not need to make an appearance.)
Your Craig P. Kenny and Associates attorney will request all evidence that will be used against you, including: police reports, lab reports, medical records, maintenance history of the breath machine, etc… We will use this information to negotiate with the court to get your DUI charges reduced or dismissed.
First offense Nevada DUI fines and penalties:
$400 to $1,000 fine;
DUI School (8-hours);
Victim Impact Panel attendance;
2 days to 6 months in jail (depending on the judge, this could be reduced to 48 to 96 hours of community service); and
90-day drivers license revocation (185-day driver’s license revocation after October 1st, 2018.)
2. The DMV case
The second case in a Nevada DUI is with the Nevada DMV. You will be required to attend a drivers license suspension hearing to determine whether or not your driver’s license will be suspended. Your Craig P. Kenny and Associates lawyer can represent you at this hearing as well.
In the event the panel concluded the hearing with license suspension, your Nevada drivers license will become suspended for 90-days (180-days if charged after October 1st, 2018).